TGIF – mom

It’s been a wonderful week.. thank God it’s Friday!

I spent four years celebrating my mom’s birthday miles away from her. I contented myself with liking her photos on facebook as she celebrated her birthday with her sisters, my sister and her friends. I spent four years hoping that one day, I will get to spend time with her on her birthday too. I spent four long years celebrating Christmas and new year too far away from my mom. I managed to tell myself it’s okay as I greet her happy holidays on video chat. I never stopped wishing that I will be reunited with her and the rest of the family to celebrate holidays just like old times.

It’s been almost three months since she got here for visit from our home country. My happiness is immeasurable. This year we are going to spend birthdays, holidays, Halloween, mother’s day, thanksgiving and everyday together.

Caroline (of TVD) once said, no one is better off without their parents and I couldn’t agree more. I am of age; old enough that I have a child of my own and I still need my mom. The comfort of having someone who will always be on your side cannot be put into words. Life is too short and I cherish every second that I get to spend with my mom.

photo credit: http://www.funkyfaithgirl.com

 

Leave a Reply

