We all want something

We all want something. When I was a kid I wanted to have more toys. When I started going to school, I wanted to grow faster and finish my studies because I bet you too would agree that school is not too fun with all the home works and projects and all that research not to mention exams and quizzes. When I finally started working, I wanted more things – a car, a house of my own and the list goes on forever. Now that I have a family of my own, I want a lot of things for my kid – a good life to begin with. In all of the things that we want in life may it be material, a better future, success or fulfilment; you have to have at least two things to achieve them. I’d like to share that on today’s two things Tuesday.

 

1> Will

It is never enough just to want something. Why? Because it’s given – people are insatiable. It is easy to want. You don’t even have to think about what to want. You just do. That want has to be so strong to drive you into making that want a reality. You have to turn that want into inspiration. You have to turn that want into a purpose so that the end goal is to work on it and have it. Take advantage of that want and use it to fuel your inner strength and be determined to get it and check it off your long list of wants.

 

When I moved to this foreign country to start a new life, I got into a few odd jobs and it was not easy. I graduated in my home country and was able to work in the field that I wanted for as long as I can remember. I couldn’t accept the fact that I’d be waiting tables in a grill or ringing customers in a grocery for the remainder of my career that I worked hard for. Despite not wanting to go back to school, I had to. I’m still working on it but if I keep on passing, I’d finally be done before the year ends. It is not easy but I know it’s worth it.

 

2> Means

Nurturing that want to become strong and inspire you is not the end of your journey to achieve your want. It is equally important to find the means or create the means to realize it. If you want a new car, you have to have money to buy it. If you want to finish school you have to stop skipping your classes. If you want to lose weight you have to take some time to exercise or watch your diet. Whatever means you think is necessary is as important as turning that want into an inspiration.

 

I knew I had to go back to studying and finish a few more courses to get back to my field of study. And to do that, I can’t stay on odd jobs. I need a better paying job so I can support my school. I didn’t give up looking for a better job even if it took me months. I was frustrated a dozen times but I cannot give up. I have the will to keep me going.

 

Acceptance is vital. Accept the fact that getting what we want is not as easy as picking up a fallen strawberry. We don’t always get what we want but we get what we deserve. So work hard and deserve what you want. It’s all in your hands.

 

 

 

 

 

photo credit: https://runthisapple.com/

 

Leave a Reply

