All about your craft

 

In my entire blogging experience which has not been too long, there are two things I found to be true. I’d like to share that on today’s two things Tuesday.

  1. Know yourself

It is quite impossible to share your work to others if you haven’t decided what you really want. Ask yourself, why do you write? Why do you want to write? Identify your purpose for writing.

In the beginning I was just writing for myself or so I thought. I didn’t care if anyone read my blogs or if anyone actually like them. It was more of overcoming confidence then. I didn’t trust myself that I can write. I didn’t believe myself that I have things to say that is worth other people’s time.

I had a lot of struggles – inconsistency, lack of focus, short of reason, waiting for inspiration, writers’ block and the list goes on. I needed to know my strengths and use them and identify my weaknesses so I can find ways to turn them into strengths. That is easier said than done. But I did it and everyday I choose to do it.

It helped a lot getting to know myself. I found my purpose and I found fulfillment.

  1. Know others

You may tell yourself “I write for myself” but the fact that you publish your work means you want people to care about the things you care about. You want readers to take in what you say and ponder on it. Because if you truly are just writing for yourself, you don’t need to blog; you just need a notebook and start a diary.

Knowing others does not mean you have to write for other people. It’s just equally important to know other people (may it be your follower, the general public or whoever) so you can consider them when you write.

Consider others in the sense that, you need to write stronger blogs to intrigue your readers. Or offer your readers something after reading your article or your poem. Your readers do not have to agree with you on what you write but the essence of sharing your craft is to provoke them or affect them.

I always think of writing (or sharing your craft) as a two-way street. You give and you get or you give and other people take.

photo credit: https://runthisapple.com/

Leave a Reply

